Derek Webb: What Matters More?

So here’s the uber-controversial (for contemporary Christian music anyway) new single from Derek Webb:

Here’s the explosive first stanza:

You say you always treat people like you like to be
I guess you love being hated for your sexuality
You love when people put words in your mouth
‘Bout what you believe, make you sound like a freak

What do you think?

Here’s some elsewhere on it, from Brian McLaren, Gospel Soundcheck, Michael Spencer, and Post-Restoration Perspectives, Denny Burk as well as a decidedly different take at Dustin Segers’s blog.

Here’s a trailer for the whole album, Stockholm Syndrome:

11 Responses to “Derek Webb: What Matters More?”


  1. 1 brambonius July 18, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    Like I said on my own blog, the song shoched me! But that was for musical reasons (I really don’t like the arrangement, he kill the song with it)

    As for the point he tries to make, I have no problem with it, it’s something that still needs to be adressed in some circles (doesn’t make a difference if christians do or do not believe that homosexuality is a sin…) And for the s-word, I don’t even get the buzz. Must be something american… Weird culture it is…

    shalom

    Bram

  2. 3 Peter J. Walker - EmergingChristian.com July 19, 2009 at 6:27 am

    I love Webb’s style in this album. Sounds like a progression from “I See Things Upside Down.” And Depeche Mode.

  3. 4 1ozmom July 20, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Love the message. I’m so sorry he has to be the such a target, but he’s not alone. Many of us are saying the same, just not on a nationa/international scale.

  4. 6 gay webcam July 2, 2013 at 7:15 pm

    What’s up to all, the contents present at this web page are genuinely awesome for people experience, well, keep up the good work fellows.

  5. 7 low income auto insurance July 20, 2013 at 3:33 am

    If some one wants to be updated with hottest technologies afterward he must be visit this web
    page and be up to date everyday.

  6. 8 cheap auto insurance ny July 20, 2013 at 3:34 am

    Greetings! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d
    ask. Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest
    authoring a blog post or vice-versa? My blog discusses a lot of
    the same subjects as yours and I think we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent
    blog by the way!

  7. 9 3d avatar games online free no download October 6, 2014 at 8:52 pm

    Hi this is somewhat of off topic but I was wondering if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually
    code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding know-how so I wanted
    to get advice from someone with experience.
    Any help would be enormously appreciated!


  1. 1 The Syndrome is very revealing…. | Homebrewed Christianity Trackback on July 21, 2009 at 7:51 am
  2. 2 DEREK WEBB LYRICS, STOCKHOLM SYNDROME, WHAT MATTERS MORE, CLEAN VERSUS EXPLICIT, HOMOSEXUAL OR STRAIT AND STRAIGHT | RealLiberalChristianChurch.org Trackback on October 3, 2011 at 3:09 am

Leave a comment




Check Out This Free Book Club

Abolish Slavery – Join the Movement Today!

  • Friend of Emergent Village

    My Writings: Varied and Sundry Pieces Online

    Illumination and Darkness: An Anne Rice Feature from Burnside Writer's Collective
    Shadows & Light: An Anne Rice Interview in MP3 format from Relevant Magazine
    God's Ultimate Passion: A Trinity of Frank Viola interview on Next Wave: Part I, Part II, Part III
    Review: Furious Pursuit by Tim King, from The Ooze
    Church Planting Chat from Next-Wave
    Review: Untold Story of the New Testament Church by Frank Viola, from Next-Wave

    a