Do I Really Need to ‘Lose Weight’?

https://i0.wp.com/www.geekologie.com/2007/10/08/animal-scale.jpgI am happy to report that, since using the ROM, I’ve lost at least seven pounds.

Alas, you know what they say about statistics. The same can be said about correlation and causation; I’m afraid this rapid weight loss was more due to me (and indeed my whole family) being very sick last week. Purge-O-Rama!

But is what I’m doing in my journey toward health best framed as ‘weight loss’ anyway? ROM manufacturer Alf Temme (ahem) weighs in:

There is additional advice that we give with the ROM. When you start on an exercise program that is meant for losing fat then ABSOLUTELY DO NOT GO ON A DIET AT THE SAME TIME. In fact a calorie restricted diet will worsen your fat problem.

When you are saying that you are about 50 pounds overweight I have news for you. You are most likely 70 to 75 pounds overweight on FAT and about 20 to 25 pounds UNDERWEIGHT on MUSCLE. The word OVERWEIGHT should be stricken from the English language because it misinforms and misleads people about their problem. The reason why people get fat is because they have lost muscle first. Every pound of muscle will metabolize between 5 and 90 calories per 24 hours. It will minimum metabolize 5 calories and more depending on whether it is used to perform work and how hard it is used. Losing a pound of muscle (not maintaining it, use it or lose it) will cause at least a loss of metabolism of about 1800 calories in one year. Those 1800 calories equal the calories contained in half a pound of fat. This would result then in that you will burn half a pound less fat per year. The process of gaining fat can be slower or faster depending of how fast and how much muscle you lose. If you operate a computer all day and do not much else you will lose muscle very quickly and will accumulate fat in rapid fashion.

Going on a calorie restricted diet worsen the muscle loss problem even though it can cause some of the fat storage to decline temporarily, only to increase faster after you return to normal eating habits and it result in more fat than before starting on the diet. If you are interested I can elaborate about what to do about your eating habits when you start using the ROM. Surprisingly you should do the opposite from what people believe they should do to get rid of their fat. You actually have to start off the day with a carbohydrate breakfast.

75 pounds overweight on fat, how delightful. But that just means I’ve been building up a secret cadre of muscle these past several weeks! Ready to strike at a moments notice. Coming tomorrow: My first ROM workout video!

19 Responses to “Do I Really Need to ‘Lose Weight’?”


  1. 1 Eric January 20, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    Good info from Alf,
    I’ve been running a lot but now that you mention it, i should probably focus on building muscle. And I need to stop skipping breakfast.

  2. 2 Mike January 21, 2009 at 7:29 pm

    Great info you have provided here. Very useful information.

  3. 3 Kristie Rea January 22, 2009 at 12:40 am

    Nice write-up. Thanks for taking the time to put this up.

  4. 4 sensa January 22, 2009 at 12:57 am

    Well many people want lose weight for just looks since their current weight is perfectly fine and healthy.

  5. 5 freedietexerciseprograms January 22, 2009 at 4:01 am

    I really like what you’ve done here, hopefully you also like the website I’ve created that provides information on: Free Diet Exercise Programs.

  6. 6 garcinia cambogia formula review June 24, 2013 at 11:59 pm

    Magnificent overcom! I’d like to trainee all at once since you change your website, how could i subscribe for any blog web-site? A profile served me a acceptable cope. My spouse and i have been a bit more common of your your own transmit provided fantastic see-thorugh principle

  7. 7 pay day loan July 20, 2013 at 10:39 am

    I take pleasure in, lead to I discovered just what I was looking for.
    You have ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man.
    Have a nice day. Bye

  8. 8 reverge skin care July 20, 2013 at 11:56 am

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a writer for your blog. You have some really good posts and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely
    love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a
    link back to mine. Please send me an email if interested.
    Thanks!

  9. 9 garcinia cambogia diet July 20, 2013 at 12:48 pm

    Hi there Dear, are you in fact visiting this site on a regular basis, if so afterward
    you will definitely obtain pleasant knowledge.

  10. 10 Diet Patche Reviews July 29, 2013 at 9:32 pm

    Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too. This kind of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll.

  11. 11 Lydia April 21, 2014 at 6:43 am

    Male Breast Reduction ExercisesWith pills being the convenient way to reduce breast size, there are specific exercises targeted at eliminating gynecomastia.
    If youâ re taking drugs and popping pills in order to treat gynecomastia
    is through a combination of those techniques. With Gynexin, you will be sure you take a trusted, safe,
    clinically proven and examined product that’s assured to work.

  12. 12 Augustina July 18, 2014 at 9:27 pm

    This paragraph is genuinely a nice one it helps new thee
    web viewers, who are wishing in favor of blogging.

  13. 13 cohortapp.com July 21, 2014 at 2:40 am

    This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more
    of your fantastic post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my
    social networks!

  14. 14 phoneapro.com September 23, 2014 at 4:30 pm

    Hey exceptional blog! Does running a blog like this require a massive amount work?
    I have very little expertise in programming however I had been hoping to start my
    own blog soon. Anyhow, should you have any suggestions or techniques for
    new blog owners please share. I know this is off topic nevertheless I just had to ask.
    Appreciate it!

  15. 15 Margareta October 9, 2014 at 5:41 pm

    Hello
    I am thinking about taking prohormones, do you think this is
    good idea for advanced bodybuilder like me? People
    are satisfied with the results after prohormones cycles, just google for – prohormones factory – worth a try?

  16. 16 hormone December 18, 2014 at 2:47 am

    If you would like to grow your know-how only keep visiting this web site and be updated with the newest news update posted here.


  1. 1 2009: A Fat Odyssey (and, a Living Alternative) « zoecarnate Trackback on February 20, 2009 at 2:19 pm
  2. 2 build muscle mass Trackback on May 18, 2014 at 5:32 pm
  3. 3 Cover Photo Trackback on September 25, 2014 at 9:32 am

Leave a comment




Check Out This Free Book Club

Abolish Slavery – Join the Movement Today!

  • Friend of Emergent Village

    My Writings: Varied and Sundry Pieces Online

    Illumination and Darkness: An Anne Rice Feature from Burnside Writer's Collective
    Shadows & Light: An Anne Rice Interview in MP3 format from Relevant Magazine
    God's Ultimate Passion: A Trinity of Frank Viola interview on Next Wave: Part I, Part II, Part III
    Review: Furious Pursuit by Tim King, from The Ooze
    Church Planting Chat from Next-Wave
    Review: Untold Story of the New Testament Church by Frank Viola, from Next-Wave

    a