Sara Miles on Steve Brown Etc!

My favorite conservative Calvinists at Steve Brown Etc. interview my favorite über-progressive Episcopalian Sara Miles, author of the riveting and life-changing memoir Take This Bread: A Radical Conversion. She’s a journalist, foodie, Eucharistic adventurer and food pantry guerrilla peacemaker. You should listen to Sara and Steve’s dialogue – and indeed you should be listening to SBE in general.

Links for Sara & related:

SaraMiles.net

Sara’s page on Anglimergent

St. Gregory of Nyssa Episcopal Church (they have an incredible sermon archive)

The Food Pantry facilitator for open-source food pantries nationwide…start one this month!

All Saints Company an alt.worship resource group started by the founders of St. Gregory’s

Other podcasts with Sara:

Nick & Josh

PBS Religion & Ethics Newsweekly

NPR’s This I Believe

The California Report

The Kindlings Muse

CKUT Radio

WNYC Radio with Brian Lehrer

Psychjourney Audio Book Club

(any I’m missing?)

7 Responses to “Sara Miles on Steve Brown Etc!”


  1. 1 Rich August 1, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    Hey, I heard Sara on an NPR essay that she read. It was INCREDIBLE! Scarcely have I been so moved by radio spot!!!

  2. 2 zoecarnate August 1, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    You got that right, Rich. That piece was amazing – and so’s Sara. Do yourself a favor if you haven’t, and read Take This Bread.

  3. 3 astatum August 12, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    I’d still like to read that book if you’ve got a copy I can borrow.

    Andrew

  4. 4 wilsonian August 19, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    You know… I was so moved by her Take This Bread that I sent her an email to thank her for writing it.

    And she wrote back.

    Freaked me out in a good way 🙂

    ps. I came over from Jeff Goin’s place

  5. 5 zoecarnate August 20, 2008 at 12:15 am

    That sounds just like Sara! I’d recommend that anyone read TTB…and then write her.


  1. 1 Sunday Devotional: Sara Miles – Jesus Says GO! « zoecarnate Trackback on February 14, 2010 at 4:44 pm
  2. 2 Jesus Freak vs. Jesus Freak | Mike Morrell Trackback on August 7, 2011 at 10:35 pm

Leave a comment




Check Out This Free Book Club

Abolish Slavery – Join the Movement Today!

  • Friend of Emergent Village

    My Writings: Varied and Sundry Pieces Online

    Illumination and Darkness: An Anne Rice Feature from Burnside Writer's Collective
    Shadows & Light: An Anne Rice Interview in MP3 format from Relevant Magazine
    God's Ultimate Passion: A Trinity of Frank Viola interview on Next Wave: Part I, Part II, Part III
    Review: Furious Pursuit by Tim King, from The Ooze
    Church Planting Chat from Next-Wave
    Review: Untold Story of the New Testament Church by Frank Viola, from Next-Wave

    a