Liberating Differences? Where I’ve Been – Final

I bring the grace-hammer down in this post! Want to read it? It’s here, on my new blog, MikeMorrell.org! Please update your subscriptions & bookmarks. Thanks!

9 Responses to “Liberating Differences? Where I’ve Been – Final”


  1. 1 Wendei October 12, 2007 at 2:23 pm

    Actually, Mike, I’ve been reading and thoroughly enjoying this series. I truly enjoy exegetical discussions where scripture is shown to be the glorious, beautiful, freeing thing that it is rather than the hard, binding, miserable thing many (well-intentioned) Christians make it out to be. Thank you for your efforts here!

  2. 2 Brother Johnny October 12, 2007 at 5:48 pm

    Well, brother, I’ve given this the once over while here at work, and I must say that I have a serious warning for you.

    Keep believeing like this, and you will continue to see your life and the lives of those around you totally transformed.

    Like I said, “I callz ’em like I seez em”.

    Hallelujah!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. 3 zoecarnate October 12, 2007 at 6:21 pm

    Thank you, Wendei! And well, Brutha Johnny, you might notice that the title of this series is “Where I’ve Been” and not “Where I *Am*”…so it’s complicated. Have I continued to believe these articulations of faith and God? Yes and no. I shall delineate all of this for both of you (hee-hee!) on the ‘morrow.

  4. 4 Brother Johnny October 13, 2007 at 1:51 am

    (…I just knew I shouldn’t be reading while at work! Sorry bro,…looks like you just might be cursed to hades after all..Guess we’ll know tomorrow.)

  5. 5 brotherjohnny October 13, 2007 at 4:41 am

    😉

    (I always forget the importance of the emoticon!)

  6. 6 zoecarnate October 13, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    And here I thought you were serious..!

    It might be Sunday now, as I posted something else entirely today. We’ll see!

  7. 7 Peter K Bell October 13, 2007 at 9:37 pm

    Hey Mike,

    These are some of the finest words on the consequences of how we read the OT that I have read–and as you know, I have read a lot of them:

    “The Old Testament is indeed a guidebook! But how does it guide, that is the question! And I think that in the answer lies the difference between a defeated, sad, miserable life in religious bondage or a supernatural, joyful, incarnational, radically liberated and free life in Jesus Christ!”

    I totally agree, and there is no shortage of evidence to confirm this! Well, there actually IS a bit of a shortage of the second kind of life around–at least here in the Bible belt–and a much too big surplus of the first kind of “life” mentioned here.

    As you have said, we’ve gotta do the same: find Jesus in the weirdest places–the places he has found to hide! He clearly wants us to find him there, to develop a passion for finding him wherever he is hiding, a passion that is not easily satisfied.

    Blessings in Christ,
    Peter

  8. 8 brotherjohnny October 14, 2007 at 3:10 am

    Let’s see just how good the good news can get! 🙂

    Looking forward to reading more.


  1. 1 Covenant Expiration Dates & Perpetual Renewal - Where I’ve Been Part 3 « zoecarnate Trackback on October 12, 2007 at 1:22 pm

Leave a comment




Check Out This Free Book Club

Abolish Slavery – Join the Movement Today!

  • Friend of Emergent Village

    My Writings: Varied and Sundry Pieces Online

    Illumination and Darkness: An Anne Rice Feature from Burnside Writer's Collective
    Shadows & Light: An Anne Rice Interview in MP3 format from Relevant Magazine
    God's Ultimate Passion: A Trinity of Frank Viola interview on Next Wave: Part I, Part II, Part III
    Review: Furious Pursuit by Tim King, from The Ooze
    Church Planting Chat from Next-Wave
    Review: Untold Story of the New Testament Church by Frank Viola, from Next-Wave

    a