Five Questions About Moolala

Last week I started hearing all over the Internet about a promising new social media startup, Moolala. I was seeing it pop up on pretty much every channel – blogs, Tweets, Facebook, LinkedIn, and via several friends in my Inbox. And then – small world the Web is – it turns out that one of my friends, Jon Dale, is a co-founder! Jon’s a brilliant guy, consultant extraordinaire, Alt.MBA apprentice of Seth Godin, so I figured I’d better pay attention. Jon took some time away from managing the gangbusters-like growth Moolala’s experiencing to fill in the blanks for me. Here’s what we talked about…

So. Moolala…what on earth is it?

It’s daily deals meets Facebook plus a rewards system.

How does it work?

On one hand we’re just like the big daily deals sites out there.  We offer people phenomenal deals on things they love to buy.  But that’s just the beginning, we also offer rewards on every purchase you make, your friends make, your friends friends make…and on for a total of 5 levels. This handy video pretty much sums it up:
So I can get paid to use & refer Moolala? Like, cold hard cash? From ‘pay matrixes’? That sounds like some kinda ponzi scheme. Can’t you get locked up for that sort of thing?
Ponzi schemes are clearly illegal.  The important thing to understand is that it’s completely free to sign up and you don’t have to buy anything.  But we think when people see the deals we’ll be offering they’ll grab them really fast.  And when people buy the deals we pay out rewards.  We’re taking the same money that most companies spend on marketing and sharing it with the people who help us build our membership.
That makes sense. What kind of daily deals can I expect to get?
We’ll be running both national and local deals.  Restaurants, salons, spas, entertainment options, clothing stores, we’re talking to lots of companies that your readers know and love.
Delightful. What inspired y’all to create this?
I wrote a blog post about that.  You should check it out.
# # #
I did check it out, and I’m giving Moolala a try. Jasmin has saved us a pretty penny from Groupon and Living Social daily deals in the past year, so if I can support a similar service that actually shares its profits with the people, I’m all for it. Plus, being in the word-of-mouth publicity business myself, I can really appreciate their business model. Rather than spending dough on advertising, they create a service with integrity and ask people like us to share it with our social networks. Makes sense to me. I signed up for free; if you’d like to join me in trying this out, click here – and don’t forget to invite your friends. : )

11 Responses to “Five Questions About Moolala”


  1. 1 Jon January 8, 2011 at 12:54 am

    Thanks for writing about us! We love you.

    Jon
    For the Moolala Member Experience Team

  2. 2 Lydia January 11, 2011 at 7:44 pm

    A few questions:

    Is Moolala only a US website?

    Does Moolala share or sell the personal information of its subscribers with other companies?

  3. 3 Jon Dale January 14, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    Thank you for these questions. In brief:

    1. The site is international, we have members all over the globe.

    2. We don’t sell or rent our list. But we do share the names of people who buy deals with the merchant providing a deal so they can track redemption.

  4. 4 Shelly February 17, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    I love the look of Moolala’s new site- Kudos to them for a Brilliant concept & thanks for writing about it here!

  5. 5 John Sartrus October 4, 2011 at 7:11 pm

    Wow! What massive, shameless bullshit! It’s incredible!

  6. 6 zoecarnate October 4, 2011 at 7:24 pm

    Hi John – or Art – why massive? Why shameless? Why bullshit? They’re actually one of the larger Daily Deals sites out there, and they do pay out.

  7. 7 The Gonz November 3, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    Hey I use Moolala. I don’t do the all the referring. I have gotten some great deals there though.

  8. 8 carolyn davies December 14, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    im not happy i ordered something got the $ taken out and noning no emails phone calls or tracking# on what i have orered! at this point im not real thrilled at the service

    • 9 Ann June 1, 2012 at 4:05 pm

      Hopefully you have gotten your item by now. The team on the site are very helpful whenever there is an issue. The thing I didn’t understand was redemption once I got that all has been well. Love the deals and the site.

  9. 10 Lynn December 6, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    I ordered a cord and adapter for my iphone 5 from Moolala, it was $15, I ordered 2 thinking it was a good deal. After I ordered it, I was given a voucher and had to go to the vendor’s website and put in the code. I was very confusing. I was them informed it would be 4 weeks. I was stuck at that point, I had already paid Moolala.

    After 4 weeks I received an email saying:
    “I’m so sorry the merchant was not able to provide the product. We found out after the deal was offered that the product did not perform up to Moolala’s standards. This is certainly not what we want for our members! We’re happy to issue you a refund.”
    We can send you a refund check or you can use the funds to buy another voucher but because this transaction is more than 7 days old I’m unable to refund to your credit card.

    I asked for a refund only to get this:

    “I am sorry for the delay in getting back to you. I am happy to help you with this, however, our refund tool in the administrative portion of our website has not been working for a few days. The internet technology offices have been closed for the holiday, however, they are working on the problem now.”
    I them get an email explain, I got a credit on my Moolala account…..what a joke. I will never order from them again. I had to login and request a check and it will take 10-14 days. So they have had my money for almost 3 months. I will never order from them again. I am so unhappy. Plus I passed up some other deals on a cord and adapter.

  10. 11 salon marketing June 27, 2013 at 6:25 am

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that
    I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!


Leave a Reply

Check Out This Free Book Club

Tweetlie-Dee

Abolish Slavery – Join the Movement Today!

  • Friend of Emergent Village

    My Writings: Varied and Sundry Pieces Online

    Illumination and Darkness: An Anne Rice Feature from Burnside Writer's Collective
    Shadows & Light: An Anne Rice Interview in MP3 format from Relevant Magazine
    God's Ultimate Passion: A Trinity of Frank Viola interview on Next Wave: Part I, Part II, Part III
    Review: Furious Pursuit by Tim King, from The Ooze
    Church Planting Chat from Next-Wave
    Review: Untold Story of the New Testament Church by Frank Viola, from Next-Wave

    a


