Church History in Four Minutes & Quaker Dance Party

It isn’t perfect, but it’s fun: This church produced the video below; the story is told here and here. HT: Liturgy NZ

And I discovered video below via Martin Kelley‘s Convergent Friends Ning network (Ning networks are awesome!); Jon Watts is a spoken word artist and multipreneur; his music reminds me of Eminem or maybe Aesop Rock, except that he’s a Quaker rapping about the Inner Light illuminating the world’s darkness. He’s also created a wicked-cool George Fox Friend Speaks My Mind t-shirt that could totally go head-to-head with the John Calvin Is My Homeboy shirt – if only he’d make it in sizes that men with more girth could wear. Anyway, this video is fun; many Christians will balk at its chorus line, but I think it’s great for continuing discussion about the tension Dallas Willard names in The Divine Conspiracy between traditional and progressive Christians, the former of whom worship Jesus for what he does, the latter of whom follow him for the example he sets. Taken as a koan, imagine this song as singing one half of this ‘battle rap’ and live into the tension.🙂

23 Responses to “Church History in Four Minutes & Quaker Dance Party”


  1. 1 Elizabeth Chapin November 25, 2009 at 5:45 pm

    Thanks! These videos were a great way for me to start my day as a seminary student at George Fox studying Christian History. I wish I was that creative…

    • 2 Robin Mohr November 25, 2009 at 6:29 pm

      Jon Watts’ video was really controversial within Quaker circles, and I can only imagine it will offend more in the wider world. I recommend reading his blog posts that explain a little more about his perspective. The main thing is that the chorus represents one point on Jon’s spiritual journey, from not knowing or caring about Jesus at all to glimpsing what Jesus could mean to others and to him. It does not speak for all Quakers, or even where Jon is now or will be in the future as his spiritual journey continues.

      I personally like the video. One of the things that makes it funny is to see people responding to the Holy Spirit by dancing in meeting for worship, which is so out of the ordinary that it approaches the absurd. And some of the other lines in the song are just inside jokes that probably only Quakers will get. But the tune is catchy. Amd it is a great opener for discussion. Thanks for passing it along, Mike.

  2. 3 zoecarnate November 25, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Hi Robin,

    I’ve worshiped periodically with Friends for nearly 10 years now; I’m well aware of the wonderful diversity of your movement, and would not ‘tar’ (or ‘credit’) other Friends with Jon’s insights and/or baggage (again, depending on your point of view!).

    Where’s Jon’s blog, particularly his post(s) discussing the song? I’d love to read.

    And Jon, if you’re reading this, MAKE ME AN XXL ‘FRIEND SPEAKS MY MIND’ T-SHIRT!🙂

  3. 4 Martin Kelley November 25, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    Hi Mike: Jon has a few URLs. His blog is called Quakerpoet and the best starting point is probably his post Dance Party Reflections: Two Months Later.

    Jon grew up in the hothouse of East Coast Liberal Quakers. Youth culture is long on bonding rituals and short on theology. “Quakerism” is taught as its own religion and “I’m a Quaker not a Christian” is pretty much the religious ed line. Jon lucked out by going to one of the few historically-Quaker colleges that still has a significant Quaker identity. I went to a lecture by the head of the Quaker program there a few weeks and wrote about it on my Quakerranter.org blog. That might give your readers a little sense about where this video is coming from. I’ve found that many of the twenty-something Friends are hungrier for more and a lot less Christo-phobic than their parents.

  4. 5 Dan November 27, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    Mike,
    Just want to say that your blog here at zoecarnate is always a joy to read! I love the stuff you share here….THANKS !!!

  5. 6 Vicki January 29, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    Okay, first off, I’m 54, loved the music and video over all. Part of me laughed and thought “hysterical!”🙂 But when I hear “I’m not a Christian, I’m a Quaker” or “Christ is not my Savior”…how am I supposed to feel,respond? Is this part of the inside joke? Is this typical of the way Quakers identify themselves? Cause I don’t know. And that’s the part I don’t get. Personally, I’m not sure we all have an inner light, but I *am* sure we need Christ. And if the lyrics happen to indicate an awareness of the Quaker’s need of Christ as Savior, then what’s the hesitation?

    I’m just saying….🙂

  6. 7 microdermabrasion at home May 26, 2014 at 5:27 am

    Expert microdermabrasion is more effective than home systems because there is considerably more control over the
    power of the abrasion. This acne scar treatment involves your Austin cosmetic dermatologist injecting collagen under the acne scars to stretch the skin. What is
    left behind is smooth, resilient skin that has not been subjected
    to the environmental factors that create wrinkles and other types of skin damage.

  7. 8 christian t shirts June 7, 2014 at 7:44 am

    Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though
    you relied on the video to make your point.
    You definitely know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your weblog when you could
    be giving us something informative to read?

  8. 9 Newvinevideos.Com June 13, 2014 at 8:24 am

    Hello would you mind stating which blog platform
    you’re using? I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m having
    a hard time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and
    Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  9. 10 coinpixels June 24, 2014 at 5:26 pm

    It’s amazing designed for me to have a website, which is good for mmy experience.
    thanks admin

  10. 11 playstation uk June 24, 2014 at 7:09 pm

    It is perfect time to make a few ppans for the longer tesrm and
    it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this submit and if I could I desire tto suggbest you few attention-grabbing things or tips.
    Maybe youu can write subsequent articpes relating to this article.
    I desire to learn more things approximately it!

  11. 12 how to invest in gold and silver June 28, 2014 at 4:36 pm

    Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against
    hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on. Any recommendations?

  12. 13 best kitchen faucet reviews July 3, 2014 at 3:11 pm

    8 gallons per minute instead of the industry standard
    of 2. You’re convinced that you just need to get her to hear
    you out and then you can convince her to give your relationship a second chance.
    Not like repair kits which normally include internal parts, overhauling kit features the external parts or the combination of
    the 2.

  13. 14 RE/MAX July 6, 2014 at 9:17 pm

    It is actually something I did note when we started making
    maple sugar. These negative extraterrestrials are the so-called Grays but there is also a reptilian-type race that has visited
    Earth. putting stones in:  We did the round ones that are around the outside first then she caught
    on to what we were doing and wanted to do the rest🙂.

  14. 15 pest control Philadelphia August 27, 2014 at 11:17 pm

    However, sometimes it’s not always as easy as that,
    sometimes we can’t see the issue until it’s too late, so how can we stop that situation from happening.
    There is a ban on insecticides for the negative effects on the surroundings.
    If the pests are chewing biting pests that are ingesting plant tissues then the use of
    systematic insecticides will be the best solution for long term treatment.

  15. 16 anti aging malaysia September 23, 2014 at 4:50 pm

    Everything is very open with a very clear explanation of the issues.

    It was truly informative. Your site is useful.
    Thank you for sharing!

  16. 17 business startup accountants June 1, 2016 at 5:59 am

    Appreciating the time and energy you put into your blog and detailed information you provide.

    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material.

    Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS
    feeds to my Google account.


  1. 1 aldenswan.com » Blog Archive » Church History in 4 minutes Trackback on November 25, 2009 at 9:23 pm
  2. 2 We Didn’t Start the Fire « Walk with me… Trackback on November 26, 2009 at 7:14 pm
  3. 3 Jon Watts – Quaker Poet and Producer » Blog Archive » Mike Morrell Trackback on November 30, 2009 at 7:59 am
  4. 4 Jon Watts – Quaker Spoken Word Poet » Blog Archive » Comments on “Dance Party Erupts” from one of the top Religion/Spirituality Blogs Trackback on December 14, 2009 at 5:37 pm
  5. 5 Jon Watts – Quaker Spoken Word Poet » Blog Archive » Press Trackback on December 24, 2009 at 7:06 am
  6. 6 I think it’s great for continuing discussion about the tension Dallas Willard names in The Divine Conspiracy between traditional and progressive Christians, the former of whom worship Jesus for what… - The Quaker Ranter – The Quaker Ranter Trackback on October 12, 2011 at 11:18 am

Leave a Reply

Check Out This Free Book Club

Tweetlie-Dee

Abolish Slavery – Join the Movement Today!

  • Friend of Emergent Village

    My Writings: Varied and Sundry Pieces Online

    Illumination and Darkness: An Anne Rice Feature from Burnside Writer's Collective
    Shadows & Light: An Anne Rice Interview in MP3 format from Relevant Magazine
    God's Ultimate Passion: A Trinity of Frank Viola interview on Next Wave: Part I, Part II, Part III
    Review: Furious Pursuit by Tim King, from The Ooze
    Church Planting Chat from Next-Wave
    Review: Untold Story of the New Testament Church by Frank Viola, from Next-Wave

    a


