Gratefulness

For the stirring waters of Stillness

Three chords comprising one Song

Self melting away in Forgetfulness

The abundance and nothingness of Godhead

Nondual awareness of unitive Vision

Eyes gently closed, glossolalia Flows

For the generosity and power of Release

And the conducive, cohering energies of letting Go.

Tree of Life

5 Responses to “Gratefulness”


  1. 1 Heather W May 23, 2009 at 3:40 pm

    Wow. And to think you once called yourself “shallow” ….? 😉

  2. 2 Mollyb May 25, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    I just happened upon your website, as I was trying to learn more about The Shack. I know nothing about “emergent churches.” But I am a Christian seeker and a follower of a Christian mystic tradition that you might be interested in, The Religious Society of Friends, also known as Quakers. It seems to be everything you are looking for: experience in religion rather than dogma, ministry by all. Those are ministers who are called by Spirit to be so. A Living Faith, rather than a dead dogma. The one thing that we don’t have much of, is music because hundreds of years ago, when it was started, the “in” thing was Puritanism, which had a strong distrust of the arts as manipulative rather than illuminative.

    Check out the Quakers, if you haven’t already. For me, it’s been a rich life of activism, searching, and now a deeper peace.

  3. 3 zoecarnate May 25, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    Heather – even shallow waters feed into deep tributaries.🙂

    Hi Molly – thank you for stopping by and how thoughtful of you for commending the Quakers! I love the Friends, have worshiped with them on occasion for the past decade, and have an entire section dedicated to them on my website.

    I appreciate your insightful connection of Quakers and what I call the “Puritan Impulse.” If I were to name the most beautiful movement flowering out of the Puritan Impulse, it would be the Friends. That said, there lingers a distrust of the arts, meaningful (as opposed to shallow or hypocritical) ritual, and really, one one gets down to it, The Past (except for a sanctioned ‘golden age’). These are difficulties I have with all Puritan-formed traditions (including my own house church tradition) and thus sadly ‘disqualify’ the Quaker stream from being “everything I’m looking for.”

    With that said, I’m quite distrustful of my (and my culture’s) consumeristic spirituality-shopping tendencies, so I hold my own preferences very lightly. What would likely be “everything I’m looking for” would be a composted hybrid of (what I’d name) the best characteristics of Episcopal liturgical shape (with a Byzantine slant), Quaker silence and iconoclasm, neo-Anabaptist political vision and a dash of Pentecostal/Sufi (!) worship. And then my fondest hope is that this community would be challenging to the community and not merely ‘welcoming,’ and yet sufficiently common to be ‘c’atholic & have people of all neighboring ethnicities and developmental-economic-intellectual capacities present for gathering!

    See what I mean about hopelessly consumeristic..?🙂

  4. 4 Kelly Deppen June 3, 2009 at 11:29 pm

    That’s Beautiful. Inspired me. Blessed me.

  5. 5 Mollyb September 17, 2009 at 5:50 am

    I guess when I fell in love, it was my husband I fell in love with. I didn’t go looking for the perfect man, and then found him. So maybe I don’t have the perfect marriage, but it’s been a terrific teacher. Now, as a happy grandmother, I have no regrets.

    Same thing with my spiritual community. Being with people, struggling, learning to love them and all their crazy ideas is better (I’m speaking about my own experience, here) than finding the “ideal.” I have a friend who found the “ideal” spiritual community, until she discovered that the brilliant, insightful and inspiring spiritual teacher was also exploiting sexually the women in the community.

    So, Quakers have Puritan roots, but we’re not very Puritan any more — at least not here in California.

    Now my question: what are neo-anabaptist politics like?


Leave a Reply

Check Out This Free Book Club

Tweetlie-Dee

Abolish Slavery – Join the Movement Today!

  • Friend of Emergent Village

    My Writings: Varied and Sundry Pieces Online

    Illumination and Darkness: An Anne Rice Feature from Burnside Writer's Collective
    Shadows & Light: An Anne Rice Interview in MP3 format from Relevant Magazine
    God's Ultimate Passion: A Trinity of Frank Viola interview on Next Wave: Part I, Part II, Part III
    Review: Furious Pursuit by Tim King, from The Ooze
    Church Planting Chat from Next-Wave
    Review: Untold Story of the New Testament Church by Frank Viola, from Next-Wave

    a


