Synesthesia

…sounds like the coolest disorder ever.

11 Responses to “Synesthesia”


  1. 1 ashles January 17, 2008 at 4:27 am

    we talked a little about this in my physiological psych class. doesn’t really sound like a disorder..sounds pretty awesome..colors!

  2. 2 Christo January 17, 2008 at 6:35 am

    Your comment is blue (it translates to cool in Synesthesiatic terms)

    sorry, my way of being funny (or pinkish green in Synesthesiatic terms)

  3. 3 Praise Mbeka January 18, 2008 at 3:25 am

    The wonder of the ways the world can be seen…to learn more, go to the Synesthesia Resource Center:

    http://www.bluecats.info

  4. 4 Brittian January 21, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    I wonder if you can catch it? Can it be learned? I hope so! I want it in the worst possible way…I’m extremely envious of Thom Yorke from Radiohead (music=color), now I know why his songs are better than mine! Drat his beautiful disorder…

  5. 5 kevin beck January 22, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    Mike,
    I have a friend whose daughter has it, and it presents some unique challenges.

    Also, composer Rimsky-Korsakov had it — interesting to listen to his music with that in mind.

  6. 6 Micah January 23, 2008 at 12:06 am

    well.. maybe in Thom Yorke’s case music = some shade of grey.🙂

  7. 7 Micah January 23, 2008 at 12:07 am

    p.s. Brittian: if you really, really want this LSD will definitely do the trick.🙂

  8. 8 Caleb February 4, 2008 at 12:05 am

    I have this. It’s awesome🙂

    Every number and letter of the alphabet has its own color. Consequently, every word has its own color as well, depending on the letters in it (usually the first letter). This makes programming my speed dial easy, because “Mom” is the same color as “4”, “Dad” is the same color as “6”, etc. It’s like my own little built-in mnemonic system🙂

  9. 9 adreanasdream February 22, 2008 at 1:35 am

    It’s not a disorder-which I find very hard to explain to people when I’m telling them exactly what it is (I have it). It’s not really that cool, either. Believe me. I didn’t even realize I had it until I turned 12, when my best friend and I got into a huge fight about what color the letter “O” was.

    I don’t want to give it up, but it’s not that neat when you’re so used to it. Actually, it is a great time consumer when you’re bored. I just turn on some classical music, lay on my bed, and stare at the ceiling, watching all of the colors and shapes go by. That part is the only really cool part.

    It can be angering though. For instance-3 is a total jerk. I hate anything in 3’s, and it makes me really pissy when I see that number.


  1. 1 Cowardly Comments Behind the Mask of Anonymity « zoecarnate Trackback on January 31, 2008 at 9:57 pm
  2. 2 Cowardly Comments Behind the Mask of Anonymity | Mike Morrell Trackback on August 7, 2011 at 11:53 pm

Leave a Reply

Check Out This Free Book Club

Tweetlie-Dee

Abolish Slavery – Join the Movement Today!

  • Friend of Emergent Village

    My Writings: Varied and Sundry Pieces Online

    Illumination and Darkness: An Anne Rice Feature from Burnside Writer's Collective
    Shadows & Light: An Anne Rice Interview in MP3 format from Relevant Magazine
    God's Ultimate Passion: A Trinity of Frank Viola interview on Next Wave: Part I, Part II, Part III
    Review: Furious Pursuit by Tim King, from The Ooze
    Church Planting Chat from Next-Wave
    Review: Untold Story of the New Testament Church by Frank Viola, from Next-Wave

    a


