Pyros and Aqua – Semper Reformanda

Just when I, in utmost piety, was going to gently recede from the Team Pyro/Po-Motivators debacle, John Sexton has to tempt me, leaving a comment to come check out his artistic response.

And I did. Heaven help us. Here are my favorite three–for the rest (many more of which are hilarious) go here.

doctrine.jpg

grace.jpg

joy.jpg

I Love Reformed People!

Just as I can enjoy a good laugh at my own expense (quite literally–those Pyro postcards “inspired by” me really did make me laugh) as well as satire directed at others, I want to reiterate something I said in my own comments section yesterday, for all to read:

We’re all in process, changing, developing, growing–and I’m sure regressing from time to time. I’m a firm believer in semper reformanda–always reforming. I don’t want my previous post to suggest that I have problems with all Reformed theology or Reformed people per se. Some of my best friends are Reformed; heck, even I espouse some Reformed affinities, though eclectically and not in thoroughgoing enough a manner to please the purists. ) Nonetheless, I have immense respect for many Calvinists of history, such as the Huguenots, Karl Barth and Leslie Newbigin. In terms of living folks, I have the utmost admiration for Tim Keller and RTS-Orlando folks Steve Brown and Joel Hunter. Not to mention Faith-mapper extraordinaire Stephen Shields. (Also Walter Brueggemann and many friends in Presbymergent, but shh! They’re mainliners, so they don’t really “count” for our present purposes) I might differ with them all on certain matters of theology, spirituality, and praxis but they can speak into my life any time.

0 Responses to “Pyros and Aqua – Semper Reformanda”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Check Out This Free Book Club

Tweetlie-Dee

Abolish Slavery – Join the Movement Today!

  • Friend of Emergent Village

    My Writings: Varied and Sundry Pieces Online

    Illumination and Darkness: An Anne Rice Feature from Burnside Writer's Collective
    Shadows & Light: An Anne Rice Interview in MP3 format from Relevant Magazine
    God's Ultimate Passion: A Trinity of Frank Viola interview on Next Wave: Part I, Part II, Part III
    Review: Furious Pursuit by Tim King, from The Ooze
    Church Planting Chat from Next-Wave
    Review: Untold Story of the New Testament Church by Frank Viola, from Next-Wave

    a


