East Orthodox Spirituality, Charismatics, & the New Monasticism

I have a lot to say about at possible commonalities between Eastern Orthodox spirituality, the rhythms of New Monasticism (especially as expressed in the U.K.) and charismatic faith. Want to read it? Follow me to my new blog at MikeMorrell.org! And update thy RSS subscriptions, blog rolls, and bookmarks accordingly. Thanks!

 

8 Responses to “East Orthodox Spirituality, Charismatics, & the New Monasticism”


  1. 1 storbakken August 25, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    Yo!

    Looks like a great book. I added it to my Amazon Wishlist. Thanks for putting it out there.

    More fire!

  2. 2 Lenz August 27, 2007 at 3:58 pm

    Thanks for filling a brother in.

    I particularly liked the paper on transfiguration and gold dust and am excited about discovering more of what Pentecostal and Eastern Orthodox Christianity share in common behind different terminologies.

    And I also want more of people citing C.S. Lewis, Vladimir Lossky, Thomas C. Oden, Seraphim of Sarov and Ruth Heflin together! This almost freaks me out… (I used to attend the services of Heflin’s fellowship in J-Town.)

    Keep up the momentum.

  3. 3 S. Nowacki-Butzen (fun signature, eh?) September 14, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    I think I am going to read the book now. It looks great and I just read all the books on my waiting list during our summer break so I need to buy more! I am fascinated with this stuff ever since taking a class with the guy I always rave to you about – Dr. Corne Bekker. I can’t engage you much on things between Eastern Orthodox and Charismatic thought because I do not know enough about Eastern Orthodoxy – but glory dust! HA! I haven’t heard someone mention glory dust since my days at Berry. Sad to say I never experienced it myself but there is still time…

  4. 4 Pat March 18, 2008 at 4:46 am

    Ahhh, very interesting! I’ve wishlisted the book.

    I’m fascinated by this post. I find myself drawn greatly to celtic and monastic spirituality, and I’m preparing for a trip this October to study Orthodox spiritaulity as well. I’m working on a doctorate with Bakke Graduate University, and my thesis is starting to shape up around ways that we can contextualize the spiritual practices of Benedictine/Jesuit/Celtic/Orthodox streams into today’s missional and neomonastic movements.

    All that hits the first part of what you’re talking about – and then the last part: my mom’s a pentecostal Catholic (yep! :-)), and she’s often telling me about glory dust and gemstones and stuff like that that I have no grid for, so I hold it loosely.

    I’m printing that paper now..🙂

  5. 5 rajan June 4, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    eastern orthodoxy is similar is closer to old catholic denomination, the difference is the priest is allowed to marry and the eastern orthodox is open to sexual appetites which is treated as normal, as cathlic/protestant believes sex is just to procreate! Also the eastern faith has always been one to entertainment/arts after church in which the priest can take part in the folkloric dances: the western consider greek/gypsy dances a sin and will not support a celebration dance party after church! Western demoniations resist byzantine music/culture and say we only allow classical music and stick to only western based arts leaving no room for diversity!

  6. 6 Matmarvel October 8, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Have any of you had your own experience with Glory Dust? Is anyone still getting dusted??? Or are the events of dusting all over???

  7. 7 Cathryn June 20, 2009 at 11:48 pm

    God dusted in my kitchen a few years back, – God can be sneaky like that… .. …
    Nice post Mike, it’s been awhile since i’ve popped on, been in a rather hidden, off general radar mode…

    Since i do a lot of Holy Spirit based “Bodywork” – Massage stuff, with clients, the Breath thing is pretty basic… – Well, Holy Spirit is literally translated … “The Holy Breath” right..
    God breathed into Adam’s nostrils – kinda makes me laugh when people get into a tizzy about it- Blessings dude!
    Shalom!
    Cathryn

  8. 8 minecraft forge July 16, 2013 at 1:42 pm

    You can choose your favourite ones coming from a wide range of PS2 games, from martial
    arts to spy adventures to the sports games, to immerse yourself inside realistic graphics and sound effects of PS2.
    If you are to take it around to your friends place, office
    or school, then you’ll need some protective gear as well as other consoles to allow for easy transportation. For those who want a gaming laptop, the design is not very important or.


Leave a Reply

Check Out This Free Book Club

Tweetlie-Dee

Abolish Slavery – Join the Movement Today!

  • Friend of Emergent Village

    My Writings: Varied and Sundry Pieces Online

    Illumination and Darkness: An Anne Rice Feature from Burnside Writer's Collective
    Shadows & Light: An Anne Rice Interview in MP3 format from Relevant Magazine
    God's Ultimate Passion: A Trinity of Frank Viola interview on Next Wave: Part I, Part II, Part III
    Review: Furious Pursuit by Tim King, from The Ooze
    Church Planting Chat from Next-Wave
    Review: Untold Story of the New Testament Church by Frank Viola, from Next-Wave

    a


